Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Output short circuit fault
#1
Another strange fault to solve , replaced an old panel with new Morley dx 1 loop panel, all new devices on loop working perfect after installing new Apollo devices on system. Bell loop 1 reading 6.8 k ohm on multimeter as supposed to , when I put connector into panel it shows up short circuit fault on this sounder loop, I think it maybe some of the pyro in the circuit breaking down and when the current flow from panel causes a short. Has anyone ever came across this problem .
Reply
#2
(06-12-2018, 12:05 AM)dcarney Wrote: Another strange fault to solve , replaced an old panel with new Morley dx 1 loop panel, all new devices on loop working perfect after installing new Apollo devices on system. Bell loop 1 reading 6.8 k ohm on multimeter as supposed to , when I put connector into panel it shows up short circuit fault on this sounder loop, I think it maybe some of the pyro in the circuit breaking down and when the current flow from panel causes a short. Has anyone ever came across this problem .
Any earth faults ?
Reply
#3
No earth faults , all clear on that
Reply
#4
Someone may also have a diode on the sounder circuit somewhere. I get this on occasion with Notifier ID3K's straight from the factory when I put resistors in, have to move the jumper for swapping between resistor or diode EOL's back, and power down and back again.. it shows output short circuit fault when it sees a diode when expecting a resistor, and also with a resistor on.
http://awacsuk.com

advanced warning and communicated systems
installation...integration...innovation....

any comments or views posted are mine and I'm keeping them.
Reply
#5
Are all the sounders new? no old relays on the sounder circuits?
Reply
#6
Sounder are not new but are standard , checked all bells there is no diodes on circuit , was one at the end device which I changed to 6.8k resistor
Reply
#7
(06-12-2018, 01:10 PM)dcarney Wrote: Sounder are not new but are standard , checked all bells there is no diodes on circuit , was one at the end device which I changed to 6.8k resistor

There may be another hidden away split the circuit to see what you get
Peter Robinson




07889 038650

Reply
#8
use a battery on the bell circuit - split it down - reverse polarity on the circuit etc.
Reply
#9
Bell has wet itself and broke down or fault not flagged up by older panel - bell out and split
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Using hyperterminal to view Gent output Harni 5 480 28-09-2018, 11:33 PM
Last Post: Adi
  Zeta Addressable simplicity Panel: change fault. dekoya 0 254 21-09-2018, 03:50 AM
Last Post: dekoya
  Tyco MZX - Beacon Fault - Possible RSM issue? aeg 7 738 18-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Last Post: Shaunyboy1905
  Sita 200 plus Short Circuit Leolion2177 19 2,138 29-06-2018, 09:39 AM
Last Post: John
  Static 900 fault codes Ilindley 8 1,105 06-04-2018, 12:47 PM
Last Post: Ilindley
Rolleyes Advanced Mx config output evac Bero 4 876 04-04-2018, 10:28 PM
Last Post: Graeme
  gcu fault on zp3 4loop panel christopher wasike 13 3,583 04-04-2018, 09:30 PM
Last Post: Adi
  Volt free output to fire zone ei0675 24 3,943 27-03-2018, 12:28 AM
Last Post: CaptainSlog
  Advanced loop card short circuit testing xenex100 60 26,127 06-03-2018, 10:07 PM
Last Post: Monkeh
  transparent fault on a morley zx5 alonso 4 1,548 14-10-2017, 11:47 PM
Last Post: sparky999

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)